Wilby Hands Out Awards to Deserving Students

Back to Article
Back to Article

Wilby Hands Out Awards to Deserving Students

Sumreen Moughal, Reporter

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

On Tuesday, June 4, Wilby High School held its annual Awards Night in the school auditorium.  During Awards Night, faculty present awards and scholarships to students who have had excellent achievement and have contributed to the school’s community. The awards presented are listed below:

Principal’s Awards

Principal’s Senior Award: Miasia Gatling

Superintendent Award: Johairis Torres-Ruiz

Perfect Attendance Award: Jordan Perry

Community Awards

Wally King Memorial Scholarship: Sofia Rositani

William Kramer Award: Bryan Valdez-Ovalles

DAR Trumbull-Porter Chapter Good Citizens Award: Laiba Moughal

DAR Trumbull-Porter Ch

apter Outstanding Student in Amer. Hist: Sarabelle Vilfort

John and Ellen McKenna Memorial Scholarship: Larenzo Maldonado & Syniya March

Waterbury Hospital Auxiliary Award: Sade Ohara & Destini Montgomery

CCF in Search of Excellence: Sarabelle Vilfort

Porter and Chester Award: Donovan Allen

Daisy Lord Scholarship: Natalia Cruz

Cheske Memorial Scholarship: Bria Kirklin

Humanitarian Spirit Award: Nancy Castanon

Maurice LaBonte Memori

al Scholarship: Ashley Tanguay

Michaels Jewelers Award: Maha Sethi & Jason Basant

Friends of Wilby Media Cen

ter: Larenzo Maldonado

John Mongolia Award: Miasia Gatling

Anita Drewry Memorial Scholarship: Destini Montgomery

Junior Book Awards

Yale University Book Award: Jason Basant

Harvard University Book Award: Christopher Blay

United States Marine Corps Awards

Scholastic Excellence: La

iba Moughal & Julian Mangual

Distinguished Athlete: Sean Thomas & Janyra Whitmore

Music Excellence: Samantha Montalvo & Michael Daniels

USMC Enlisted Cadets: Adriel Diaz, Jesse Fermin, Sean Thomas, Elijah Caruso, Nabeel Ali, & Alfredo Fernandez

Military Awards

Wounded Warrior-Darrel Riley Memorial Scholarship: Elijah Caruso

Military Order of the Pur

ple Heart Award: Jason Basant

Women Marines Association for Outstanding Cadet Award: Gabriela Vega

Marine Co

rps JROTC Outstanding Cadet Ribbon: Jeishka DeJesus

Marine Corps JROTC Officer Leadership Award: Javier Soto

Marine Corps Non-Commissioned Officer Award: Genesis Suriel-Balbuena

Marine Corps JROTC Bear Drill Cadet Ribbon: Tayler Saunders

Athletic Awards

Unified Sports Award: Carlton Carpenter, Quinton Parker, Jazmin Gonzales-Ocasio, Jakob Ray Griffey, Daisy Mahabir, & Bria Kirklin

George Tirado Athletic Director Award: Janyra Whitmore & Marc Calle

George Tirado Memorial Scholarship: Alana Daunis

Frederick J. O’Brien, Jr. Memorial Football Award: Dylen Alleyne-Mckitty

Cheerleading Award: Janyra Whitmore

Departmental Awards

Music Department Awards

Outstanding Achievement in Vocal Music: Anastasia LeBron

Outstanding Achievement in Instrumental Music: Dezirae Sayler

World Languages Awards

Outstanding Achievement in Spanish: Johairis Torres-Ruiz

Outstanding Achievement in Italian: Laiba Moughal

Family & Consumer Sciences Awards

Epicurean Award: Anthony Pitts

Food Entrepreneurship Award: Storm Clinton

Innovative Designer Award: Noordadeen El-Massri

Physical Education Awards

High Fitness CPFA Performance Award: Marc Calle, Bria Kirklin, Alana Daunis, & Jalon Ray Griffin

English Department Awards

Outstanding Achievement in English: Sarabelle Vilfort

Bryan S. Yeshion Memorial Scholarship: Bria Kirklin

The Emerald Award-English: Gizel Garland

Phoenix Scholarship-Drama: Roma Rositani

Mathematics Department Awards

Outstanding Achievement in Mathematics: Sarabelle Vilfort

George Haddad Mathematics Scholarship: Laiba Moughal

Social Studies Department Awards

Stephen W. Wilby Award for Outstanding Achievement in US History: Laiba Moughal

Abraham Lincoln Award did Academic Excellence in US History: Sarabelle Vilfort

Science Department Awards

Outstanding Achievement in Science: Sarabelle Vilfort

Vitone Award-Highest Overall Science- Senior: Laiba Moughal

Art Department Awards

Outstanding Achievement in the Visual Arts-Fine Arts: Johairis Torres-Ruiz & Christian DeRoche

CT Associate of Schools Award for Excellence in the Visual Arts- Johairis Torres-Ruiz

Business, Finance, & Technology Awards

Outstanding Achievement in Business Award: Miasia Gatling

Frederick J. O’Brien, Jr. Memorial Award Scholarship in Technology: Michael Parker-Ricketts